Follow

Hiding Stories

The hiding stories feature provides a safety net for the admins to keep the sanctity of their Teamie sites intact. Since stories can be made public to the world or visible to everyone across an institution, it’s possible that they might end up containing some sensitive information. Therefore as an administrators, you might want to hide a story instantly without actually deleting it and unhide it after the issue is resolved.

This article will guide you on:

Hiding a story

1. Click Stories Feed to access the public stories list.

Note: You can also access the required story directly from its URL.

Hiding a story

2. Click to open a story that you want to hide.

3. On the story landing page, click the ellipsis (...).

4. Select Hide from the drop down.

5. A confirmation message appears. Click Yes to hide the story.

6. The story will be hidden and you will be to see a banner displaying that "This story is hidden".

Note: This banner will still be visible to the story author and he/she will be able to edit the content of their story.

7. The story author will not be able to do the following actions on the story till it's hidden:

  • Like/unlike the story
  • Comment on it
  • Change its privacy settings
  • Change the classroom for which the story was created, or
  • Share it with anyone

8. The story author will be notified that the story has been hidden from other users.

9. Hidden stories will appear in Stories Feed for the user having Hide/Unhide any Story permission and the story author only. A label saying "This Story is Hidden" will appear over the hidden stories.

Unhiding a story

1. On the story landing page, click the ellipsis (...).

Unhiding a story

2. Select Unhide from the drop-down.

3. A confirmation message appears. Click Yes to unhide the story.

4. The banner displaying "This story is hidden" will disappear and story will be available to appropriate users.

5. After the story is unhidden, the story author can perform all the available actions on the story, such as, share it, like it etc.

FAQs

Q) What happens when a story is hidden?

A) The story will stop appearing in any feed like the Stories Feed or the Stories tab within a classroom or on the user's profile Stories tab.

Q) Can the individual items in the hidden story be accessed?  

A) Individual items in the story will also not be accessible through direct URL.

Q) Who can view a hidden story?

A) Users who have the permission to "Hide any story" will be able to view this story, if they have access to it.

Q) Can author of a hidden story make any changes to the story?

A) Yes, the author may proceed to make any changes to the story, without any restrictions.

Although, the story author will not be able to do the following actions on the story till it's hidden:

  • Like/unlike the story
  • Comment on it
  • Change its privacy settings
  • Change the classroom for which the story was created, or
  • Share it with anyone

Q) Is it necessary that the user who hid a story needs to be the one who unhides it?

A) No, it's possible that a story gets hidden by one user and unhidden by another user, if the other user has the required permissions.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Top
Powered by Zendesk