As an instructor or a learner, you might be part of many classrooms. At Dash homepage, classrooms are sorted in an alphabetical order and therefore accessing such classrooms that you visit frequently can become a tedious job.
So to make this simpler and faster, we have introduced the concept of Starred classrooms or social groups.
The Starred feature allows you to star and pin a specific Classroom or Social group to the top of your Dash homepage so that you can quickly access such classroom or social group later. Starred classrooms/social groups will appear on top of your Dash homepage in a new section named 'Starred'.
Note: Starring classrooms is a Dash-only feature.
This article will guide you on:
Starring a classroom
1. You would notice an onboarding message when you access your Dash homepage. This is to inform you about the concept of starred classrooms. Click Got it to acknowledge the message.
2. On the homepage, you will see a "Classrooms" section which contains all your classrooms. Hover on a classroom to see the star icon.
Note: In case you are a part of any social group, then you will also see all your social groups under the "Social Groups" section.
4. The moment you star your first classroom, a new section Starred will appear on top of your Dash homepage with your starred classroom under it. You can star your favorite or more commonly used classrooms and access them quickly from the "Starred" section. You will have your own set of starred classrooms that will only be visible to you.
Note 1: The starred classrooms will also appear under the "Classrooms" section.
Note 2: You can 'Star' any number of classrooms, at anytime.
Reordering starred classrooms
You can reorder your starred classrooms at any time as per you wish. This can act as a way around to reordering classrooms on the Dash homepage. Let's see how you can reorder your starred classrooms.
1. As soon as you star more than one classroom on your Dash homepage, you will get an onboarding message informing you about the concept of reordering starred classrooms. Click Got it to acknowledge the message.
Unstarring a classroom
1. You can unstar any starred classrooms very easily. Just visit your Dash homepage to view all your starred classrooms.
3. That classroom will be unstarred and will be removed from the 'Starred' section.
Note 1: The classroom you have unstarred will retain the same position under the 'Classrooms' section on the Dash homepage (in alphabetical order).
Note 2: You can unstar any number of starred classrooms, anytime you wish.
Collapsing and expanding sections
By default, you will see only one section named as “Classrooms” until you star some of your favorite classrooms in Dash. The moment you star your first classroom, a new section named “Starred” will start appearing on top of your Dash homepage and classrooms section will be shifted down automatically. The 'Starred' section will contain only the classrooms (and social groups, if any) that you have starred.
Note: When you don’t have any starred classrooms, you will not see “Starred” section on your Dash homepage.
2. All the starred classroom will collapse and you will only see the section name i.e. Starred. This gives you a much neater look and help you access the required classroom quickly. Similarly, you can collapse all the classrooms under the 'Classrooms' section.
Note: If you navigate to a classroom / social group and then navigate back to the homepage, the sections that you had collapsed will continue to appear collapsed. This means the collapsed or expanded sections are remembered by your browser, i.e, if you open the homepage on some other browser or device, then all the sections will appear expanded by default.
Checkout the following video to know more about "Starring Classrooms":