Follow

Administrators - Managing Classrooms

A classroom (also known as unit or module) is a place where all the learning activities takes place. It is a group of people and can have learners, Instructors and administrators. It has a newsfeed where discussions take place. Lessons and assessments are shared within it for the members to access. Usually, only administrators are given permission to add a new classroom.

This article will guide you on:

Creating a classroom

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select the Start a new Classroom option from the drop-down menu. If you do not see that link, then most probably you do not have permission to create a new classroom. Contact your site administrator to grant you permission.

Creating a classroom

2. Type out the Classroom Unique Code, Classroom Title and Description. Classroom unique code can be a unique alphanumeric string along with special characters.

3. Click Choose File to select and upload a picture that represents the classroom. Recommended dimensions are 100x100 pixels.

4. Click Save to create the new classroom.

For information about creating classrooms in bulk, see section, “Importing classrooms".

Import Classrooms by using the bulk import process

Teamie offers bulk classroom creation when there is a need to create the new classrooms in bulk. The greatest benefit of classroom bulk import is to create multiple classrooms in one action rather than creating new classrooms through UI one by one.

The section provides a quick walkthrough of the bulk classrooms creation in Teamie:

1. Click Manage Teamie block.

2. Click Import Classrooms.

3. Click Download Template to download the excel template file.

4. Open the Template to fill in the required data.

5. The EXCEL template contains the following columns:

  • Classroom Unique Code : Enter the classroom unique code. Classroom unique code can be a unique alphanumeric string along with special characters such as hyphen, asterisks, for example: GK_101.

Note: Classroom unique code is not case sensitive. For example, Science is a classroom whose unique code can be defined as "Science_102" , "SCIENCE_102" or "SCience_102". If you try to create another classroom with any of these possible combinations by using the bulk import, then classroom creation will not take place. Columns highlighted in red are mandatory.

  • Classroom Title : Enter the classroom title.

6. You can repeat step 5 to add more classrooms.

7. Once you have entered the required information in the respective columns, the excel sheet is ready to be imported into Teamie. Click Choose File to select the template.

8. Select the Template and click Open.

9. Selected template will be uploaded shortly.

10 . Click Import The Data Set.

11.  You will see the progress of importing classrooms process on your screen.

12. Once the import process is successfully completed, you will be redirected back to the Classrooms page, where you can see the classrooms which have been imported along with the associated information.

Updating classroom information

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom that you want to update.

Updating classroom information

2. On the classroom's landing page, click more and and select Edit option from the drop-down menu.

3. Click the fields (Classroom Unique Code, Title or Description) that you want to update and make the changes.

4. Click Save to save the changes that you have made.

Changing classroom picture

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Changing classroom picture

2. You will see the image which is currently associated with this classroom.

3. On the classroom's landing page (Class Feed), click more and select Edit from the drop-down menu.

4. Click "X" to remove the current image in order to upload new image.

5. Click Choose File.

6. Select an image from your system and click Open.

7. You will see the progress of your file upload.

8. The image will be resized automatically to fit within the maximum allowed dimensions.

9. Scroll down the page and click Save to save the changes you have made.

10. A notification message will appear to inform you that "Classroom has been updated" and you can see the new classroom image on the left side.

Updating classroom unique code

1. Click Manage Teamie block.

Updating classroom unique code

2. Click Classrooms & Groups.

3. You will see a list of classrooms on the Manage Classrooms & Groups page.

4. Use the filters to locate the classroom. In this example, we are searching for the classroom “Software Engineering”. Refer to Unique Code and Title column to view the unique code and title of this classroom.

5. Click Edit to update the classroom unique code.

6. Check the classroom’s unique code on the classroom edit page.

Note: Teamie does not track changes made in the classroom unique code. So, you should save the current unique code information in your system for future reference.

7. Update the classroom's unique code.

8. Scroll down the classroom editing page, click Save to save the changes you have made.

9. A confirmation message appears saying that Classroom has been updated.

10. On the Classrooms & Groups page, you will notice that unique code of this classroom has been updated.

Deleting a classroom

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom that you want to delete.

Deleting a classroom

2. On the classroom's landing page, click more and select Edit option from the drop-down menu.

3. Scroll down the page and click Delete to delete the classroom.

4.  Click Delete on the delete confirmation page to confirm that you want to delete the selected classroom.

5. A notification message appears to inform you that Classroom has been deleted.

Note: When a classroom is deleted, all content within that classroom is also deleted permanently (stuff like posts, lessons, assessments, gradebook etc.) and once deleted, content can not be recovered.

You can also delete a classroom from the classroom listing page as well.

Click the ellipsis for the classroom you wish to delete and select Delete from the menu.

This would bring you to the classroom delete confirmation page as described in step no. 4 above.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Top
Powered by Zendesk