Follow

Administrators - Managing Classroom Members

Adding users to a classroom

After your classroom is set up, you can add new users to your classroom. These users can be learners, instructor or classroom administrators. Follow the steps below on how to add users to your classroom.

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom to which you want to add new users.

Adding users to a classroom

2. Click the down arrow and select Add people option.

3. Select a role that you want to assign to the users. The role determines the set of permissions users will have in this classroom.

4. Type out the user's name in the People text box. Select the user from the list of suggestions that appear. Repeat this step to add more users.

5. Click Add people to add all the selected users in the classroom.

6. A confirmation message is displayed to indicate that the user has been added in this classroom.

Blocking users in a classroom

When a user is blocked from a classroom, his/her posts, comments, assessments access etc. are NOT disabled. They remain intact. The purpose of blocking is to temporary prevent the user from accessing the content in the classroom and to prevent him/her from receiving any notifications relating to the classroom. If you wish to permanently remove the user from the classroom, then read the article on Removing a user from a classroom.

1.  Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Blocking users in a classroom

2. Click See Everyone.

3. Click Manage People.

3. Select the user(s) from the list that you wish to block.

4. Select Block membership for the selected users option and then click Execute. Selected user(s) will be blocked from the classroom.

5. You will see the block action progress for the selected user(s).

6. A confirmation message is displayed. You can see the user's current state in State column.

Unblocking users in a classroom

You can grant classroom access to the blocked users anytime.

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Unblocking users in a classroom

2. Click See everyone.

3. Click Manage people.

4. Select the user(s) you wish to unblock. You can check if the user is blocked or not under the "State" column.

5. Select Approve membership for the selected users option and then click Execute to unblock the selected user(s).

6. You will see the approve action progress for the selected user(s).

7. A confirmation message is displayed to indicate that the update has been performed. The selected user has been granted access to this classroom and user's current state has been changed from Blocked to Active in state column.

Removing users from a classroom

You can remove users from a classroom anytime. The users who are removed will no longer have access to that classroom.

If you wish to disable access to the classroom temporarily for a user, then you may block him/her. Read the article on Blocking user in a classroom for more details.

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Removing users from a classroom

2. Click See everyone.

3. Click Manage people.

4. Select the user you wish to remove from the classroom.

5. Select Cancel membership for the selected users option and then click Exceute to remove the selected user(s) from the classroom.

6. You will see the Cancel membership action progress for the selected user(s).

7. A confirmation message is displayed to indicate that the update has been performed. The selected user has been removed from the classroom and no longer appears in the list.

Updating user's role in a classroom

You can change the user(s) role in a classroom anytime. The classroom role will determine what features can be accessed by that user in the classroom. You can assign different roles to a user in different classrooms.

Note: A user can be assigned only one role in a classroom. In this section we will be showing you how to update the user's role in a classroom.

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Updating user's role in a classroom

2. Click See everyone.

3. Click Manage people.

4. Pick user(s) whose role you wish to change.

5. Select Remove a role for the selected users option and then click Execute. The system will remove the assigned role from this user.

6. Select a role from the list that you wish to remove from the selected user.

7. Click Next to confirm.

8. You will see the Remove a role action progress for the selected user(s).

9. A confirmation message is displayed to indicate that a role has been removed from the user. You can see the user's role detail in Role column.

10. Pick user(s) whom you wish to assign a role.

11. Select Add a role to the selected users option and click Execute.

12. Select a role from the drop-down list that you wish to assign to the selected user.

13. Click Next to confirm.

14. You will see the Add a role action progress for the selected user(s).

15. A confirmation message is displayed. A user will be assigned a role which is "Instructor".

Checking users access report of a classroom

The Access Report of a classroom is a reporting tool that shows who has accessed a classroom or who has not. It also shows the date and time of last access.

1. Click Classrooms on the top navigation bar and select a classroom.

Checking users access report of a classroom

2. Click the down arrow and select Access Report option.

3. The access report shows the list of users that have accessed the classroom, the date and time of the access. The users who have not accessed the classroom yet, have a "Not accessed as yet" label.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Top
Powered by Zendesk