Follow

Instructors - Controlling access to lessons and lesson pages

By default, users have access to all the lessons, and hence lesson pages, of a classroom that they are part of. However, you can choose to control access to certain lessons or lesson pages for specific users in a classroom.

This article will guide you on:

Controlling access to a lesson

1. Click Lessons for a classroom for which you want to control access to a lesson.

Controlling access to a lesson

2. Click on the title of the Lesson for which you want to control access.

3.  In the lesson cover section, you can see the number of users who have access to this lesson. For example, at present three users can see this lesson. Click Users to configure the lesson access.

4.  In the Configure access popover, you can see the list of users who have access to this lesson.

5. Untick the user from whom you wish to revoke access for this lesson and click Give Access.

6. In the lesson cover section, the users count gets updated, indicating the number of users who can now access this lesson. Previously, this lesson was accessible to three users but now only two users can access it.

Note: If you remove access for a user for a lesson, user will no longer be able to see that lesson and its pages.

7. In case you wish to grant access to a lesson to a user again then you can tick that user in the popover and click Give Access.

Controlling access to a lesson page

1. Click Lessons for a classroom for which you want to control access to a lesson page.

Controlling access to a lesson page

2. Click on the title of the Lesson for which you want to control access to a lesson page.

3. Select a lesson page from table of contents block.

4. For the selected lesson page, you can see the number of users who have access to it. Click Users to configure the access to this lesson page.

5. In the Configure access popover, you can see the list of users who have access to this lesson page.

6. Untick the user from whom you wish to revoke access for this lesson page and click Give Access.

7. In the lesson page section, the users count gets updated, indicating the number of users who can now access this lesson page. Previously, this lesson page was accessible by three users but now only two users can access it.

8. In case you wish to grant access to a lesson page to a user again then you can tick that user in the popover and click Give Access.

Sharing a lesson to the Lesson Bank

The Lesson Bank is one place to find all lessons that are made public. Within a given classroom, it is an easy way for instructors to share lessons among themselves. A Physics instructor can go to the lessons bank to copy a physics lessons, created by some other instructor in his/her classroom. Teamie creates a copy of that lessons and the instructor can make modifications to it, without affecting the original lesson.

1. Click Lessons of the required classroom.

2. Click down arrow button in the Actions column of the required lesson.

3. Select Edit from the drop-down list.

4. Click Sharing.

5. Click the lock icon to add lesson to the lesson bank. By default the lesson is set as private and will be visible only within the classrooms it has been shared with.

6. The lock icon will get unlock and the label will change to Public. Now the lesson can be accessed by anyone on the site from the lesson bank.

 

7. Click Update at the bottom of the page.

8. A confirmation message appears at the top of the lesson's landing page.

Note: Similarly a SCORM lesson can be added to the lesson bank.

Setting Publish and To dates

1. Click Lessons for any classroom of your choice.

Setting Publish and To dates

2. Select the required lesson.

3. Click Settings.

4. Expand Publish Dates pane and select the Publish on date.

5. Select the Publish on time.

It is the date and time from which the lesson will be available to learners for reading.

Note: It is not compulsory to set the Publish on date and time. If Publish on date and time is not selected, then by default system's current date and time will be considered as the Publish on date and time.

6. Select the To date Date.

7. Select the To date Time.

It is the date and time until which the lesson will be available to the learners to read.

8. Click Update to save changes.

9. A notification message will appear to inform you that lesson has been updated.

10. Scroll down the lesson landing page, you will find the Publish on date and time and To date and time of the lesson under information block.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Top
Powered by Zendesk