Follow

Managing Classrooms

A classroom (also known as unit or module) is a place where all the learning activities takes place. It is a group of people and can have learners, Instructors and administrators. It has a newsfeed where discussions take place. Lessons and assessments are shared within it for the members to access. Usually, only administrators are given permission to add a new classroom.

This article will guide you on:

Creating a classroom through UI

1. Click sliding menu.

2. Under Manage Teamie section, click Manage Classroom and then choose Add a Classrooms.

3. Type out the Classroom Unique Code, Classroom Title and Description (optional). Classroom unique code can be a alphanumeric string along with special characters.

4. Select the group type from the Group Type drop-down field - Classroom or Social Group. In Teamie, a group can be categorised as either a "Classroom" and "Social Group". Both of these group types are identical with a logical difference and its usage.

When should you create a group and categorize it as Classroom?

classroom is a learning space, in which both learners and instructor are added. Classrooms are found in educational institutions of all kinds, from preschools to universities, and may also be found in other places where education or training is provided, such as corporations and religious / humanitarian organisations. A classroom provides a space where learning can take place socially and collaboratively.

When should you create a group and categorize it as Social Group?

A social group also has the same set of users (learners and instructors) who regularly interact and share a sense of unity and common identity. For example, they could be a member of a sports team, social club, workplace, and many more. It provides an outlet for conducting social activities in a much effective and informed manner.

5. Click Save to create the new classroom.

6. Once the save process is completed, classroom will be created and you will be redirected to the classroom's newsfeed page. To add user in the newly created classroom, please read this article "Adding users to a classroom".

For information about creating classrooms in bulk, see section, “Importing classrooms".

Import Classrooms by using the bulk import process

Teamie offers bulk classroom creation when there is a need to create the new classrooms in bulk. The greatest benefit of classroom bulk import is to create multiple classrooms in one action rather than creating new classrooms through UI one by one.

The section provides a quick walk-through of the bulk classrooms creation in Teamie:

1. Click sliding menu.

2. Under Manage Teamie section, click Manage Classroom and then choose Import Classrooms.

3. Click Download Template to download the excel template file.

4. Open the downloaded excel template to fill in the required data.

5. The EXCEL template contains the following columns:

  • Classroom Unique Code : Enter the classroom unique code. Classroom unique code can be a unique alphanumeric string along with special characters such as hyphen, asterisks, for example: GK_101.

Note: Classroom unique code is not case sensitive. For example, Science is a classroom whose unique code can be defined as "Science_102" , "SCIENCE_102" or "SCience_102". If you try to create another classroom with any of these possible combinations by using the bulk import, then classroom creation will not take place. Please note, columns highlighted in red are mandatory.

  • Classroom Title : Enter the classroom title.

You can repeat step 5 to add more classrooms.

6. Once you have entered the required information in the respective columns, the excel sheet is ready to be imported into Teamie. Click Choose File to select the template.

7. Select the Template and click Open.

8. Selected template will be uploaded shortly.

9 . Click Import The Data Set.

10.  You will see the progress of importing classrooms process on your screen.

11. Once the import process is successfully completed, you will be redirected back to the Manage Classrooms & Groups page, where you can see the classrooms which have been imported recently.

12. Click the Classroom Title link to open the classroom landing page in a new tab.

Updating classroom information

1. On the Manage Classrooms & Groups page, click the Classroom Title link to open the classroom landing page in a new tab.

2. Click the ellipses (...) and then select Edit classroom settings from the drop-down list.

3. Click the fields (Classroom Unique Code, Title, Description or Group Type) that you want to update and make the changes.

4. Click Save to save the changes that you have made.

5. Once the save process is completed, the changes you have made will be saved and you will be redirected back to the classroom landing page.

Updating classroom unique code

1. You will see the list of classrooms on the Manage Classrooms & Groups page.

2. Use the filters to locate the classroom. In this example, we are searching for the classroom “Science”. Refer to Unique Code and Title column to view the unique code and title of this classroom.

3. Check the classroom’s unique code before editing it.

Note: Teamie does not track changes made in the classroom unique code. So, you should save the current unique code information in your "Student Management Information System" for future reference.

4. Click the Classroom Title link to open the classroom landing page in a new tab to update its unique code.

5. Click the ellipses (...) and then select Edit classroom settings from the drop-down list.

6. Enter the new classroom unique code.

7. Click Save to save the changes you have made.

8. Once the save process is completed, the changes you have made will be saved and you will be redirected back to the classroom landing page.

9. On the Classrooms & Groups page, you will notice that the unique code of this classroom has been updated.

Deleting a classroom

1. You will see the list of classrooms on the Manage Classrooms & Groups page.

2. Click the Classroom Title link to open the classroom landing page in a new tab.

3. Click the ellipses (...) and then select Edit classroom settings from the drop-down list.

4.  On the classroom edit page, click Delete to delete the classroom.

5. Click Delete on the delete confirmation page to confirm that you want to delete the selected classroom.

6. Upon confirmation, the deleting classroom process starts. Once the classroom is deleted, you will be redirected back to your home page.

When a classroom is deleted, all its content is also deleted permanently (stuff like posts, lessons, assessments, gradebook etc.) and once deleted, content can not be recovered.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Top
Powered by Zendesk